The Return of Pod and Planet!

The Pod and Pilot Fiction Contest has sort of a soft spot for me.  Not only does it give me a chance to exercise those writing muscles (long since atrophied) but it also marks a reference in time when I became involved in the High Drag Podcast.

I had stumbled across the rules of the 2012 version of Pod and Pilot whilst bored at work surfing the EVE-O forums.  I thought it was an awesome idea and having a mindless labor oriented job gave me time to brainstorm ideas that I thought I’d like to put down.  As a loyal member of RVB (and surfer of the RVB forums….) I felt it was my duty to pass along this shining little star.  Kyle was one of the first to respond.  (We wont mention how his story beat out mine and he won a prize.  Really.)  This began the correspondence between he and I that lead to my invite to the podcast.  So.  Yea.  Pod and Pilot is important to me.  Some real life things have occurred in my life that have reinforced to me that we are NOT Ten feet tall and bulletproof.  I always thought that I’d give writing a shot when I’m physically no longer able to do my job.  But I digress….

Speaking of…Pod and Pilot has returned for 2013 and I’m excited to be involved in it’s promotion.   For those who are interested in giving it a shot, here are the links to the contest information.

https://forums.eveonline.com/default.aspx?g=posts&t=284381&find=unread

http://hullabalutions.blogspot.com/2013/10/hellowriters-and-readers-heres-pod-and.html

TL:DR

There are three categories for this years contest.  Eight Thousand Suns In New Eden, A Day In The Life and Other Things Just Make You Curse And Swear.  Eight Thousand Suns is the most difficult since it requires you to write within the EVE/New Eden canon and you cannot use “In Game” character names, corp names or alliance names.  A Day in the Life is a bit more fluid where you can use “in game” names and can take a shot or two on the canon.  Other Things is a humorous category and should be fun to read.  Deadline for submissions is November 10, 2013 at 2359 GMT.

Prizes this year are donated by Somer Blink and the High Drag Podcast.  So far, the prizes total up to 101 PLEX!!  If you would like to donate to the prize pool, contact Telegram Sam in game.

The Judging this year will be conducted by:

CCP Eterne

CCP Falcon

CSM8 member Mike Azariah

Telegram Sam (who is also the organizer of the contest)

I have decided that I’d like to submit and hope that no one will feel that any sort of misconduct is involved.  Hey, I’m just wearing a sandwich board for the contest.  Yea, I threw in a PLEX for the prize pool as well.  Regardless, the entries from 2012 were an awesome read and I’m a little worried that the competition will be cranked up another notch.  (just as long as Kyle doesn’t beat me out again.  Damnit, I said I wasn’t going to mention that)

Show some support to Telegram Sam and submit, or just read and enjoy.

Writers on your mark!  Get Set!  Go…..

Leave a Reply

